Recorder

Lynn Ette Schrupp McLeod County Recorder
Lynn Ette Schrupp
McLeod County Recorder
Registrar of Titles
Phone 320-864-1327

McLeod County Government Center
County Recorder's Office
520 Chandler Avenue North
Glencoe, Minnesota 55336 

Monday through Friday 
8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Recorder News Updates

Legislative Deed Tax change effective January 1, 2020
Currently the Deed Tax net consideration threshold is $500.  On January1, 2020, the threshold increases to $3000.  The minimum Deed Tax is unchanged at $1.65 when at or under the new threshold of $3000 and 0.33% when over the threshold.  Deed transfers received on or after January 1, 2020 will be subject to this amended law.  See Minnesota Statutes 287.21, Subd. 1(b) for more information.

Free access to various Recorder historical records

The public now has access to various historical records that are unavailable in the Land Records Management Recording System.  The following historical records are available on this new site:   Grantor/Grantee, Numerical Registers, Cemeteries, Survey Corners, Government Surveys, Surveyors Field Notes, and Atlas.   Access this free site here

Recorder Alert System Looks to Prevent Property Fraud                                                                                                   
The McLeod County Recorder has a website that aims to give residents a way to avoid falling victim to fraud.  A person could forge signatures of homeowners on a new deed and mortgage and walk out with thousands of dollars the same day.  These issues do not occur readily; however, mortgage and real estate fraud does occur in our society.  And even though one specific case of fraud has been brought to our attention here in McLeod County, there is always the possibility that more could happen.  Customers should take a proactive approach to monitoring their investments, and a home is often the largest investment one will make in their lifetime.  This is a great opportunity for citizens of McLeod County and everyone should take advantage of this free service to protect their most valuable assets.

For more information go to www.co.mcleod.mn.us/recorder/landnotification

Paper CRV's to be discontinued
Beginning October 1, 2014, paper CRV's will no longer be accepted per the Minnesota Department of Revenue. More information on this topic.
              651-556-3278 
    
Mortgage Registration and State Deed Tax
On December 27, 2012 the McLeod County Board of Commissioners passed a resolution to transfer the duties of Mortgage Registration Tax and State Deed Tax certifications on recorded real estate documents from the Auditor/Treasurer Office to the Recorders Office. The split certifications, creation of split parcel ID numbers, and the parcel ID transfers in the tax system will still be maintained by the Auditor/Treasurers Office. This transfer of duties will create better efficiencies within our offices and to you as a customer. As a customer you will only need to write one check to the McLeod County Recorder. This check will include the Recording fee, and either the Mortgage Registration Tax and/or State Deed if applicable. Remember that McLeod County does not have a Conservation fee.  Real Estate taxes should still be made payable to the Auditor/Treasurers Office.   
 
Escrow information: The Recorders Office accepts escrow accounts for all fees including recording fees. Please click here for more information.
 
Uniform Conveyancing Blanks (Blank Real Estate Forms, i.e. deeds, etc.) These forms (click here) have been approved by the Commissioner of Commerce. Click on "View a list of available forms" This list reflects a new numbering and grouping systemm, better consistency in layout, more instructions and resizing to letter size paper. The Department of Commerce posts these as a convenience for the public. We are prohibited from providing any legal or financial advice pertaining to the forms.


"Cornfield" Photo by
Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash 

Sign up for the latest news and updates

Learn More